The Society for Ethnographic Theory, a new partner of FMSH

The Fondation Maison des Sciences de l'Homme is delighted to announce a new partnership with the Society for Ethnographic Theory. Starting May 2019, the HAU Society will have its office in Boulevard de Raspail 54, Paris.

SET's goal is to advance the comparative study of people’s modes of existence through a speculative inquiry into the indigenous systems of thought and the conceptual apparatuses arising through the use of the ethnographic method. These goals are achieved by encouraging ethnographic research and theoretical development in the discipline of anthropology through the publication of HAU: Journal of Ethnographic Theory, HAU Books, and other publishing and academic initiatives.

Websites : |

Board of Trustees

Magnus Course (University of Edinburgh) | Carlos Fausto (Museo Nacional, Rio de Janeiro) | Caterina Guenzi (EHESS, Paris) | Niloofar Haeri (Johns Hopkins University) | Michael Puett (Harvard University) | Joel Robbins (Cambridge University) | Carlo Severi (EHESS, Paris) – Chair | Anne-Christine Taylor (CNRS, Paris) | Angela Zito (New York University)


Guarantors/Members of the Society

Don Brenneis (University of California, Santa Cruz) | Luiz Costa (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro) | Philippe Descola (Collège de France) | Robert Foster (University of Rochester) | Jane Guyer (Johns | Hopkins University) | John L. Jackson, Jr. (University of Pennsylvania) | Thorgeir Kolshus (University of Oslo) | Michael Lambek (University of Toronto) | Rena Lederman (Princeton University) | Carole McGranahan (University of Colorado) | Amira Mittermaier (University of Toronto) | Alessandro Monsutti (Graduate Institute, Geneva) | Elinor Ochs (University of California, Los Angeles) | Alain Pottage (London School of Economics)


Editorial Committees

HAU: Journal of Ethnographic Theory
Deborah Durham, Deputy Editor (Sweet Briar College)
Michael Lempert, Deputy Editor (University of Michigan)

HAU Books 
Julie Archambault (Concordia University)
Niloofar Haeri (Johns Hopkins University)
Sasha Newell (Université libre de Bruxelles)

Mis à jour le
25 May 2018